Markup Extensions and Silverlight 5

One of the more interesting developments in the new Silverlight 5 is the addition of markup extensions. This simple little idea can have a huge influence on your productivity and code/mark-up reuse. I am really looking forward to being able to transfer all my markup extension collection to Silverlight.

However, I am still a little concerned about the portability of such a feature – after all Silverlight should browser independent, or should it? Now I can definitely write a markup extension that will never run on a Mac (or on Linux via MoonLight). Oh, and coupled with P/Invoke there will be no going back to that multi-platform support. I suppose with Windows 7 Phone being bigger than iPhone and iPad (combined) we can now justify implementing that little Windows specific addition.

I suppose I should have seen it coming.

That’s all folks…

~ by Intelligence4 on January 26, 2011.

 
